Humbling Myself

December 16, 2008 at 2:52 pm | Posted in Fun, Racing, Uncategorized | 10 Comments

I’ve enjoyed your comments very much. So much, in fact, that I may become a bit cocky, despite knowing that the compliments are all coming from very nice and perhaps overly generous individuals (THANK YOU!). What can I do to repay such kindness while simultaneously remind myself that although I am now a Marathoner, the title came at the price of pain?

I think a picture of myself approaching mile 23 might do the trick.

whiterock_2008

That grimace is actually an attempt at a smile. Apparently, I could not handle grimacing/smiling and keeping my eyes open at the same time. At least the house in the background looks pretty.

The official race photos aren’t ready yet. I’ve never bought a race photo before, but if any turn out decently, I might make an exception.

So what’s next?

This is Day 2 of absolutely no exercise. I can’t remember the last time I’ve had two days off in a row. I’m getting a bit antsy. My legs are healing quickly, even more quickly than I expected. However, the quad strain is still there, so running will resume after that is healed. It does not appear to be worse than before the marathon, which I consider a miracle. I can’t wait to start training again, but I need to begin on fresh, uninjured legs.

So I’m revamping my strength training workout, which I’ll give a try sometime this week. I’m also working late so I can leave early on Friday and go visit MSB and some college friends in Houston, and I’m throwing myself into finishing anything that needs to be done before Christmas. I’m busy, the weather is nasty, and I have plenty to distract me.

But still…heal, quad, heal!

Reward Money Total: $650.24

Reward: TBD. Not sure I can afford myself.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. HAHAHA well you are SMILING!!!
    Come on, there has to be some reward you really want!!! And after all this hard work, you really deserve it!

  2. YOU’RE JACKED! hehehe. that’s a GREAT pic i dunno what you are seeing ๐Ÿ™‚ what was the course like? running thru neighborhoods? i know you said something about a lake (and wind!) ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Great picture! Your stride looks amazing for being at mile 23. And hey, at least you managed a smile at all; I can’t remember the last time I was smiling in any race pictures, and I’ve never done anything longer than a 10k!

    Cool incentive to reward yourself, I’ll have to try that sometime.

  4. haha atleast your still moving. id be in a heap back at mile 5.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  5. my face was not looking that happy at all at my last mile 23 ๐Ÿ™‚ you look awesome!

  6. Yes!!!! LADY look at those muscles! Damn!!

    I love it. And yea… I can’t imagine looking that strong (let alone smiling) at mile 23. You’re nuts!

  7. funny about your reward! you definitely deserve something sweet. and hello toned muscles! your weight lifting is really paying off. way to be smart and (try) to stay off your legs until your quad is better. i know it can be hard to stay away from running. can’t wait to hear what’s next! sub 3? ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Great pic. And go ahead and be cocky!

  9. whooohoo! love the picture; my smiles always come out like that during runs/races…i look like a dork. haha.

  10. DAMN WOMAN.
    you are amazing.
    (more photos please)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

