Food for Fuel: Smoked Salmon Chowder

December 18, 2008 at 10:14 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Potatoes, Seafood | 9 Comments

I’ve had way too much sugar over the past three days. People, starting your holiday cookie baking when you a) already have a cookie dough weakness and b) have depleted glycogen stores after a marathon is a RECIPE FOR DISASTER. I’m in detox mode. Well, for now, but it’s not even 10 AM.

But in between sugar highs, I had a wonderful dinner. And I owe it all to Super Target, where I went last week to buy Vaseline before my marathon and discovered that smoked salmon was on sale (and blueberries were too!).

Half of that smoked salmon went into a wonderful sandwich at work, and the other half may have been used in a sandwich as well if I had not accidentally stumbled upon a life-changing recipe.

Why life-changing, you ask? Because I have made soup from scratch very, very few times. I’m lazy about making soup, because, oh…turns out you can buy it in a can. At the store. Any store. And it’s also for this reason that I will secretly resent you for buying me an ice cream maker for Christmas, which I will re-gift at the next office party.

But after last night, canned soup is just not going to cut it anymore. A shame, because I think I’m going to bring my last can to work for lunch tomorrow.

I left the skins on the potatoes because I’m horribly lazy I like them that way. I also lightened this recipe by using Smart Balance Light instead of butter, omitting the olive oil, and using light, plain soymilk instead of half and half. It was still amazing and life-changing.

Why am I going on and on about the chowder? Because the picture does it absolutely no justice. I died a little inside when I uploaded this picture. But mostly because the soup was all gone.

dinner_12-17-08

I roasted Brussels sprouts, zucchini, mushrooms and carrots on the side, seasoned with a Seafood Boil spice blend. I also had Kashi TLC crackers in the fire-roasted vegetable flavor.

dinner2_12-17-08

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 14 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Brussels sprouts
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Summer squash (zucchini)
  • Salmon
  • Lemon
  • Whole wheat
  • Dill
  • Thyme
  • Soybeans (soymilk?)
9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oooh i do not like creamy clam chowder i always feel sick after, even though it always SOUNDS so good. but THIS sounds amazing and i love salmon. and your changes are ones i would make, too. thanks for the idea!! and your review is really persuasive, hehehe. and you made me LOL about the ice cream maker 🙂

  2. We need to be better about actually making our meals with more than 4 ingredients and using vegetables. 🙂

    I ran the marathon on Sunday and did my first run on Thursday (flat, slowish 3 miles), then (not by plan) ran again on the next Monday (flat, slowish 3 miles), then almost back to normal, 5 on Wednesday, 5 on Firday, 8 on Saturday.

    Go shake out the kinks and do a short easy one.

  3. Life-changing? OK, I’m making this one. And how nice that you’ve tested the soymilk substition already. There’s something about hot milk/cream in soups that kind of grosses me out. Whereas in frozen form, it’s just perfect.

    (I will take any unwanted ice cream makers, just like I gladly accepted a bread machine and yogurt makers, then stuffed them away somewhere after a single use and forgot about them ’til now.)

  4. tfh: Adding milk to soup scares me too. The trick is to not let the soup boil after adding it.

  5. This looks so good. I need to make this! I’m a homemade soup addict.

  6. Hmm smoked salmon soup?? That sounds really interesting…

  7. ooh, yum yum 🙂

  8. alright your food on here is always so good looking. i don’t see how you have the time to prepare such delicious (and healthy) meals everyday (or most everyday). thanks for all the great meal ideas and especially for the pictures, so i know when i’m really screwing it up!

  9. […] Scallops My goodness I love Super Target! Last time I went and picked up the ingredients for the life-changing chowder, I also found a bag of Archer Farms frozen Patagonian scallops. I’ve never cooked scallops, […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

