Strength Training: Breaking the Antsies

December 18, 2008 at 1:10 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Strength Training | 8 Comments

Time of Day: 5:40 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 70 minutes, broken up with driving time. 15 of those minutes on elliptical.

Notes: Three days of sleeping in, doing just a few ab exercises, and then getting ready for work. It was a nice little break, but I’m getting antsy Unfortunately, I don’t think my quad is ready to start getting up early to run, because it has not yet healed, although I think it’s getting closer. At least I can get back to strength training.

I’m reworking my old routine. I’m keeping some of the old exercises, making some of the old ones harder, and adding a few altogether. I’ll no longer be following the Ultimate Abs routine linked in the sidebar, but I’ll be incorporating some of my favorite exercises from that routine into my own workout. I’m also adding new leg exercises to help me avoid injuries and make me faster, but I won’t start those until after I begin running again.

Because I stopped weight training during the last week of my taper, it’s been two weeks since I’ve hit the gym. I started off slowly and could definitely feel a loss of strength.

I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly

1 set of 15 reps of the following:

  • Bicep curls while sitting on a stability ball
  • Tricep extensions
  • Lateral shoulder raises
  • Dumbbell shoulder press while sitting on a stability ball

In between arm exercises, I did:

  • Back extension, 25 reps
  • Swiss hip extension (Ultimate Abs), 3 sets of 7 reps
  • Erect lateral bends (Ultimate Abs), 15 reps each side, alternating
  • Turkish Get-ups (Ultimate Abs), 15 reps each side, alternating
  • Hip hikes
  • Pods

I had about 15 minutes left before I really needed to leave, so I decided to jump on the elliptical and see if it bothered my quad or if it would be a good cross-training method for the next few days. It didn’t bother me while I was on it and I almost decided to forget about my job and stay on a few more minutes, but I didn’t. It’s a good thing, too, because my muscles felt tight and weird from just the 15 minutes, and I needed to forget I have a job and stretch for awhile instead. My right glute feels strange now, so I don’t think I’ll be doing the elliptical soon. It’s not worth delaying my muscle recovery.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. what leg exercises do you recommend for avoiding injury and increasing speed?

  2. do you think you pulled the quad muscle?

  3. Damn good workout. I might pilfer some of those ab exercises for myself. Plus I want to get buff arms like in your race photo! Hot diggity!

  4. What is wrong with your quad? Nice blog!

  5. Hope that quad heals quickly!! I am not very good at stopping running for very long…

  6. aron: Clicking on the links to hip hikes and pods will take you to my therapy exercises prescribed by my ART doctor. I’m going to add squats with a stability ball (behind my back and against the wall), and these: http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-263-266-11273-0,00.html

    except for the top one, which I am replacing with the stability ball squats.

    Lacey and Matt Holmes: It’s not “pulled.” Diagnosis is “mild strain.” Essentially, it’s sore but will take longer to heal than just normal soreness.

  7. thank you 🙂

  8. glad to hear the quad isn’t causing you too much trouble. stay smart, enjoy some rest, and you’ll be back to sprinting your 20 mile runs soon enough. (lets be real, you’re too fast to take them easy) 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

