Food for Fuel: Baked Tofu and Semi-Free Roasted Veggies

December 19, 2008 at 10:05 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Tofu, Vegetable Side Dishes, Vegetarian Entrees | 1 Comment

We had our company Christmas party on Wednesday. Just a casual, lunchtime thing with the company providing about half the food and the rest brought in potluck style. There was an obscene amount of food–so obscene that we all ate for free the next day too. I do believe there’s still some left today *runs to check for cheese cubes*.

There were two, gorgeous vegetable plates. Guess what was leftover? Two, gorgeous vegetable plates, except what was eaten by Jess. There was still a big bag of veggies left in the fridge last night, so I took about half of it. I did this blatantly, whereas if I was taking the cake home, I would have to sneak out the back door. But no one wants the cauliflower. I guess that’s because no one knows about this delicious recipe.

I’m not a huge cauliflower fan, but you don’t have to prepare this recipe exclusively using cauliflower. I also took a bunch of yellow squash and broccoli, so I used that as well as my own Brussels sprouts, mushrooms, and carrot. I skipped the step of browning the onion and garlic before roasting it. I don’t know why it’s there; it got brown while roasting.

I roasted at 425* instead of 500* because I also decided to use up my block of tofu. I used about half of it on Tuesday, and I don’t think tofu keeps very well after you open the package. For some reason, I remembered this great eggplant recipe and decided to use it on tofu. I mixed the sauce, dipped the tofu in it, and baked at 425* for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through and brushing on a little more sauce. I added the cheese after about 20 minutes.

I also baked a sweet potato until it was very crispy on the outside and very soft on the inside (i.e. perfect). I topped it with a Laughing Cow cheese.

dinner_12-18-08

It was a very satifsying meal, and I have extra roasted veggies for lunch today, so that’s 4 meals using company Christmas party food. If the rest of the bag is still in the fridge, I might just take that too. Score!

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 14 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cauliflower
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Summer squash
  • Sweet potato
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Tofu
  • Parsley
  • Honey
  • Black pepper

Ok quad, I just fed you 14 WHFs. Recover already.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. love leftover veggie trays!! and fabulous dinner 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

