Food for Fun: Christmas Cookie Extravaganza

December 22, 2008 at 9:37 am | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | 13 Comments

Before I forgot, go leave a comment on this post and MizFit will donate $0.10 to a domestic violence shelter in Austin, TX.

And now on to the main event, Christmas cookies! I recommend all of these recipes, which yielded wonderful cookies despite some of them being under-baked. Not a problem for me. šŸ™‚

I did a lot of cookie baking last week. Because I was working late most of the week, I stuck to easy recipes so that IĀ could make a good variety. And on Friday, I hauled the pounds of cookies off to Houston, where I gave them to MSB and three of my closest friends. I was kind this year and only gave cookies to people who are very much not trying to lose weight. I also mailed some to my grandparents, because they’re 85 and half their diet consists of sugary treats anyway. Because you know, they’re 85, so who cares?

First up, Walnut Date Snack Bars from my Pillsbury: Best of the Bake Off cookbook. Except I didn’t use dates, I used black currants and golden raisins. I already had those and dates are expensive. They were still wonderful. MSB liked them even though they contain strange chewy things.

walnut_current_raisin_bars

Next, another Pillsbury: Best of the Bake Off recipe: the famous Peanut Blossoms. Cookie perfection since 1957.

peanut_blossoms

I used a third recipe from Pillsbury: Best of the Bake Off. Like the person who posted the recipe, I used Andes mints for the Starlight Mint Surprise Cookies. I broke each Andes mint in half. These look plain, but they are addicting.

starlight_mint_surprise_cookies

Next, a highly-rated cookie from Allrecipes, the Big Soft Ginger Cookie. They are exactly as they sound, except the recipe should be amended to Big Amazingly Soft Amazingly Gingery Cookie.

ginger_cookies

Still not done!Ā All of these cookies are great, but there isn’t nearly enough chocolateĀ involved. So, I made another highly-rated Allrecipes cookie, the Chocolate Truffle. These contain intense amounts of chocolate and melt in your mouth.Ā 

chocolate_truffle_cookies

What would aĀ cookie-baking extravaganza be without a chocolateĀ chip cookie? I chose Triple Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal CookiesĀ because Ā they looked festive. I skipped the white chocolate drizzling, but they didn’t need it!

triple_choc_oat_cran_cookies

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. thanks so much for mentioning….Id hoped for 1000 comments šŸ™‚ but may not get there so it’s 20 cents per comment until we do.

    now.
    I.
    am.
    hungry.

  2. All the baking looks great. My family loves those Peanut Butter Blossoms. They’re a staple for us too.

  3. Oh nice we both baked! I will be uploading mine later… I think that peanut blossoms (did not know this is what they are called until now) are probably my favorite cookies on earth. And yet I never seem to make them… I always just hope they show up at the buffet somewhere. I think it’s time to take matter into my own hands. I love those things.

  4. Also: under baked is the way to go

  5. WOW! lots of cookies!!!! i really really want some of the gingery ones šŸ™‚ i need to stop being a lazy non-baker and do something about wanting gingery cookies. hahah.

  6. Look at all of those cookies! I’m making Peanut Butter Blossoms today! They were such a hit when I was at school that my mom wants some for herself, haha šŸ™‚

  7. Beautiful baking! I am going to make those ginger cookies– I HATE it how mine always turn out snappy. Also, when I’m baking for myself and not for others, I always intentionally undercook them. But I suppose others probably would appreciate that, too.

  8. Oh My! Those look soooo good! It is a good thing I can’t smell them otherwise they would be ALL GONE!

  9. Wow, that’s a TON of cookies! At least you were able to send lots of them away šŸ˜‰ I got home and mom had a “cookie baking party” the next day so now we have about 4 dozen cookies (multiple differnt kinds) around here. I’m in trouble.

  10. I love all the great cookies you made!

  11. Great choices!

  12. are you sponsored by pillsbury? šŸ™‚

  13. […] content making my favorite cookies, but I had a bunch of cookie ingredients leftover from baking Christmas cookies, so I decided to try this recipeĀ and use up as many of those ingredients as possible. I altered […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

