Strength Training: So That I Do Not Turn Into a Big Blob of Cookie Dough

December 22, 2008 at 1:05 pm | Posted in Strength Training | 13 Comments

Time of Day: 5:40 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: Almost an hour, broken up with driving time

Notes: Last week was a rest week. Yes, I got up and strength trained once, but this is the week that I’m getting back at it. Officially. Sleeping in was fun, but it’s time.

I am no longer used to the alarm going off at 5:20 AM. I didn’t get enough sleep this weekend (which means that it was fun!), and I did not want to get out of bed. Apparently a lot of people felt the same way, because I actually had the weight room to myself for a few minutes.

Today I did 3 sets of 15 reps of the following:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly

2 sets of 15 reps of the following:

  • Bicep curls while sitting on a stability ball
  • Tricep extensions
  • Lateral shoulder raises
  • Dumbbell shoulder press while sitting on a stability ball

Before I left for the gym and in between exercises at the gym, I did the following core exercises and home therapy exercises. Examples of the core exercises can be found by clicking on the Ultimate Abs link in my sidebar.

  • Back extension, 25 reps
  • Plank, held for 2 min. 30 sec.
  • Side plank dips, 24 dips each side, each held for 4 sec.
  • Birddogs, 24 reps each side, each held for 2 sec.
  • Hip hikes
  • Pods

Weights felt difficult this morning. I obviously lost a little strength during my taper. The good news is, I’m going for a run tomorrow morning. I had an ART appointment today and he said to get out there and go. 🙂

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yayyy enjoy your run tomorrow and glad you had a great weekend!

  2. hooray! 🙂 the ART guy must’ve been pretty proud of you and the marathon!!! 🙂

  3. Hold on. You plank for 2 mins 30 seconds STRAIGHT?

    I am in awe of your core.

  4. i bet that run is going to be epic. enjoy 😉

  5. Great workout! Planks are killer.

    Not sure if you figured out the race picture thing yet, but if you put them in a shopping cart (right before you pay), you can copy the electronic version. You know… I’ve heard. :o)

  6. tfh: Yes, but I worked up to it starting with less than 1 minute.

  7. yay for running tomorrow! hope it goes well and all pains are gone. and as far as planks go i can just barely make it to a minute. more power to you!

  8. […] the way, I’m super sore from yesterday’s strength workout. Especially my […]

  9. oh no, i am turning into a blob of cookie dough…

  10. […] a day off. So, I headed to the gym (at an early hour) for strength training this morning. I did the same workout as last week, and it was difficult, just like last […]

  11. […] did my Monday workout. It may have been slightly easier than last time, but I’m still getting sore […]

  12. […] the gym was crowded, but at least I got in a second strength training workout this week and my big Monday workout should not make me as sore this time. Also, I finally got to incorporate the leg exercises that […]

  13. […] did my hard Monday weights workout. It was less difficult today, likely because I was more consistent with strength training last […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

