Daily Run: And We’re Back!

December 23, 2008 at 3:15 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 9 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Drizzling and just barely warm enough to keep it from freezing on the roads.

Duration: 42 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on an assumed pace of 7:50/mile):   5.36 miles

Notes: I was sad to open my door and see a little rain on my first day of post-marathon running, especially when that rain is falling in 33* weather. I reminded myself that most of the country is experiencing temps hovering around 0* with snow, donned my sexy and warm compression tights, and headed out anyway. And I was so happy to be outside running again that I didn’t even notice the cold, although if there had been even a hint of wind, I probably would not have been quite so elated.

I was warned that the first run after a marathon can be awkward, so I was prepared. It did feel a little strange, but I kept the pace slow and relaxed. I coughed a lot; not sure if that was from the cold air, illness, or because I’m starting to get out of shape.

Despite the cold drizzle, I wondered why there weren’t other people out there experiencing my sport. I’m so very, very glad to be back

So, my first run in 8 days, but I really don’t have much to say about it. It’s been a strange 8 days without running. I embraced the sedentary lifestyle for a week and it was nice for a few days to feel my muscles slowly return to normal after all the marathon pounding. I’m starting to feel a little softer than usual, so perhaps I’ve put on some Christmas cookie weight. That’s fine, because I tend to lose weight when training hard and I think it’s good for me to put some back on before training hard again. But I won’t be training hard this week; this week is active rest. I will be running, but the runs will all be easy. No long run this weekend.  

What’s next? I have an idea, but it’s not official yet. I’ll let you know if it becomes so. If not, I’ll find something else.

By the way, I’m super sore from yesterday’s strength workout. Especially my shoulders.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yuck- rain running.

    i love being sore! Im sore, but its from running my ass off through JFK airport

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  2. In precisely 9 hours I sure hope I will remember your post because I need to drag my butt outside. To run. In the cold.

  3. I haven’t had a chance yet to say how impressed I am with your marathon! You kept such a steady pace and had an impressive time – especially in the terrible weather!

    Hopefully the weather will get better around here – I’m in Dallas now and have been such a wuss with the icky-ness.

    With such great results on this marathon, just imagine what you can do with the next! Good luck getting back to it and enjoy your holiday. 🙂

  4. Congrats on your first run back! I’m jealous that you got to run outside 😦 We got more freezing rain today so the roads are ice. Looks like ANOTHER treadmill run tomorrow. I’m soooo wishing I was back in Houston in 70* weather. Next Christmas I should just make my family come there instead. This -14* and snow/ice is not making me happy.

  5. ew, rain rain go away. i’m bummed b/c there’s way too much snow and bad roads for me to go on a run 😦 oh, and it was a lovely 15deg outside today, that’s a bit too cold for my fingers and asthma… don’t worry, you’re not getting out of shape;-)

  6. yes, rain rain go away. it’s supposed to start tonight for us and into christmas…boo.

    glad the run went well and have a good active run week!

  7. Nothing like a break from running to make it seem delightful, in any temperature. For what it’s worth, I find running in the cold rain far worse than doing so in snow. At least snow is magical and less slippery and doesn’t drench you.

  8. hooray!!! you’re such a … runner 😉 merry christmas eve!!!!!

  9. Impressed with your RUNning … Merry Christmas! ho ho ho!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

