Daily Run: A Christmas Eve Weather Miracle

December 24, 2008 at 9:53 am | Posted in Daily Run | 8 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: 55*!

Duration: 45 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on an assumed pace of 7:50/mile):   5.74 miles

Notes: It’s sunny and warm outside. It wasn’t sunny on my run, being before dawn, but it was nice to get out the warm weather running clothes. It’s not as if I have to wear a lot of clothing to run in Texas, even when it’s “cold” here, but leaving the long-sleeved shirt behind makes me feel lighter on my feet. And I needed that today–my legs are a bit achy from beginning to run again. Also, it’s likely that they’re still a bit beaten down from the marathon.  I’m happy to say, however, that my strained quad was not among the achy muscles today.

Is anyone else at work today? I am until 3 PM, and then I’m driving to Houston again for Christmas with MSB’s family. My family is skiing in the Alps*, but don’t worry, I’ll be unwrapping an especially awesome Christmas Guilt Gift tomorrow before the wonderful Christmas feast. I’ll probably blog a little from Houston, but in case that doesn’t happen tomorrow…

Have a wonderful Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, Festivus, Chrismakkah, [insert other holiday]!

*I do not have a mean, awful family who leaves me to go skiing on Christmas. My parents live overseas and none of us have enough vacation time to make a big trip right now.
8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Merry Christmas Jess!!!

  2. i hope you have a great holiday!

  3. Glad you got a little warm weather for Christmas like you were hoping! It warmed up overnight here (I thought that was odd) so I got to go on a nice run outside in 45* weather. It felt pretty good since I haven’t run outside in a week!
    Hope you have a Merry Christmas in Houston! 🙂

  4. have a great holiday!!!

  5. merry christmas!!! i’m jealous of that weather 😉

  6. Have fun growing plump eating Geno’s mother’s food. I’m sure you’ll leave with lots of tasty leftovers as well!

    Merry Christmas, my friend!

  7. merry Christmas! hope you have a great holiday with friends.

  8. I have no comprehension of that temperature this time of year. We have like 4 feet of snow in our backyard. People are having to shovel it off of their roofs so they won’t cave in! I’m learning to run in the snow with my new Yak Traks!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

