Food for Fuel: Fancied Up Scrambled Eggs

December 30, 2008 at 9:46 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Vegetarian Entrees | 3 Comments

Last night I decided to use up my last two eggs, as well as incorporate some of the lovely produce that I bought as soon as I got home from Houston. So, I roasted a small acorn squash and used scrambled eggs to fill it. The smaller acorn squashes don’t take long to roast. I didn’t bother preheating the oven, just stuck the squash in and turned it to 375* and it was done about 40 minutes later, giving me time to do a few chores and make my eggs.

First, I filled a small skillet full of chopped mushrooms, red bell pepper, and green bell pepper. When the veggies softened, I added two eggs and chopped green onions and scrambled everything together with a handful of reduced-fat Mexican blend cheese.

Next, I scooped the egg mixture into the acorn squash, topped it with more cheese, and added some of my new salsa.

dinner_12-29-08

The Salt Lick is a famous local barbecue restaurant. I love their food, so I was excited to find this at the grocery store. It’s really good–the perfect level of spice.

I also steamed some asparagus in my microwave steamer and coated them with Smart Balance Light and garlic salt.

dinner2_12-29-08

This was a good meal and satisfied my need for vegetables after the holidays.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 8 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list (excluding ingredients from the salsa):

  • Asparagus
  • Bell peppers
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Winter squash
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Eggs
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmmm… i loooove scrambled eggs. my mom made us bfast-brunch on sunday and she makes the best scrambled eggs. i should go home again soon… heh.

  2. scrambled eggs are the best 🙂

  3. […] Paso brand, fat free), about half a can of diced tomatoes, and a healthy scoop of salsa for flavor (Salt Lick Picante). I also added about 1/3 package of Hormel chicken. I brought the soup to a boil, reduced heat, […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

