Cross-training: More Importantly, My NY Resolutions

December 31, 2008 at 1:37 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Life | 7 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min. elliptical

Notes: In the hopes that removing the pavement pounding will encourage my legs to heal, I decided to do the elliptical this morning. However, it’s been over a month since I’ve done a real elliptical workout, so I’m guessing my legs will do less “healing” and more “getting back at me with deathlike stiffness.” I didn’t do any speed intervals, but by the last few minutes my legs felt dead and shaky.

Cross-training is boring, but no more elliptical for 2008. Let’s talk about my New Year’s Resolutions instead.

Welcome, 2009

Yesterday, my Yogi teabag said, “You are unlimited.” What a wonderful saying for making resolutions! Today, however, it says, “Speak the truth.” Fine. I’ll do my best not to make my resolutions a work of fiction. I haven’t actually made resolutions in a long time, but I’m pretty good at sticking to them when I do. My sophomore year in high school I resolved to do an ab workout every single day that year. I’ve missed one day since 2000. May I never get the flu that badly again.

That goal only worked because it was realistic and concrete, so for my 2009 resolutions I’ll try to steer away from statements like, “Figure out life.” A very tempting goal, by the way.

So here they are, a mixture of personal and running resolutions for 2009:

  • Become ACE certified and begin a career in fitness. I really need to get on this. I was almost done studying and then the holidays hit and everything productive in my life came to a halt. This needs to be done in the first few months of 2009.
  • Attend church more often. In addition, attempt to be more spiritual in between church visits.
  • Set a personal record. In either the marathon, half marathon, 10K, or 5K.
  • Incorporate regular speedwork. This will help with the PR.
  • Communicate more with family and friends. Pick up the phone, Jess! Also, make communication count by letting them know I care.
  • Be less wasteful. I use too many paper towels and leave things plugged in. Bad!
  • Complain less. I’m shy, so sometimes I find myself complaining to make conversation. I like to think I’m a mostly positive person, so I need to express my optimistic side more often.
  • Lower grocery bill. I’m thinking of ways to do this without depriving myself of nice, healthy food. I’m thinking of giving up meat for one day each week. Any other suggestions?
  • Update wardrobe. I need a fun goal! Will spend money saved on food on buying clothing!

I can think of other things I want to improve about myself, but they will just have to wait until 2010. So there.

Many Miles, This Time on My Altima

This afternoon, I’m going to Houston yet again. Yes, it is sooo MSB’s turn to drive to Austin, but our options for New Year’s Eve look more exciting in Houston. This is mostly my fault because I avoid all social planning and organizing, therefore MSB must do the planning and I must drive. Not a bad exchange, really.

So this is my second 4-day weekend in a row, and I really think this is how the working world should be. I might update from Houston, or I might do a long wrap-up post again when I get back. If you’re lucky, I might do both. Either way…

Have a Happy New Year!

And don’t forget to enter the Onlineshoes Giveaway!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. what problems are you having with the computer transfer on your garmin?

  2. I agree goals have to be more concrete for us to actually do anything about them. you can do it! Hapy new year.

  3. great goals 🙂 have you used the $$ from your 2008 miles yet??

  4. wow abs everyday since ’00! my hero. great goals for ’09, especially the “life/psersonal” ones. i’ve been trying to figure mine out, but it’s just easier to come up with running-related ones. hope you had a great nye.

  5. awesome goals! happy new year!!!

  6. Happy New Year!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  7. […] It’s January 4th, and here I sit complaining, and therefore already breaking a New Year’s resolution. But really, it’s not my fault that my Garmin Forerunner 405 isn’t meeting my […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

