Food for Fuel: Piles of Veggies Pizza

December 31, 2008 at 10:08 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza, Poultry | 3 Comments

Maybe one day I’ll make a less-is-more type of pizza, with just a few good quality ingredients each given an individual chance to shine on one pie. Last night, however, was not my time. In typical Jess-fashion, I piled everything in my refrigerator onto my last ball of pizza dough (1/3 of this recipe, frozen and then thawed). I started with a very thin smear of my favorite jarred sauce, Central Market Organics Pasta Primavera, and topped it with the following:

  • Baby spinach
  • Basil
  • Pre-cooked grilled chicken strips (I buy Hormel, which is nice and natural and does not taste like weird packaged chicken) 
  • Artichoke hearts
  • Mushrooms
  • Roma tomatoes
  • Asparagus
  • Garlic
  • Cheese (bagged 2% milk Italian blend, fat-free mozzarella, parmesan)
  • A sprinkle of red wine vinegar

I baked it at 400* for about 20 minutes. 

dinner_12-30-08

Too many ingredients for each to shine individually, but this was delicious. And, how often do you get a bunch of asparagus spears poking off your crust?

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Chicken
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the pizza looks fantastic! i like the idea of asparagus on pizza.

  2. yum -t hat looks awesome!!! you just gave me an idea on what to do w/ all of my tortillas!

  3. mmm, loaded with goodness 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

