Daily Run: A Good Start

January 1, 2009 at 4:27 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 7 Comments

Time of Day: 11:30 AM

Weather: Overcast but otherwise perfect running weather

Duration: 1 hour 8 minutes 5 seconds

Distance:   9 miles

Notes: I had low expectations for this run. My legs were sore from yesterday’s elliptical workout, I drank last night and stayed up very late, and I left for my run much later than usual. I thought I would slowly slog my way through 5-6 miles again, like I have been doing since the marathon. Instead, I felt wonderful and ended up clipping through 9 miles at a 7:34 pace. Such a relief to finally feel speedy again!

Both 2008 and 2009 began with a champagne toast and a kiss from MSB. A good beginning, to be sure. However, I did not get to run on the first day 0f 2008; I was in the middle of a knee injury that kept me from running for three months. Beginning 2009 with an almost effortless 9 miles feels significant; a good omen.

Happy New Year!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s always nice to kick the year off to a good start! That’s a good pace too. Congrats!

  2. Happy New Year!

  3. yay awesome job on the run! glad you are feeling speedy again 🙂 happy new year!!!

  4. Awesome speed, just awesome. how many miles a week are u planning to run when u r not in training?

  5. what a great run! i’m also curious as to what your training “plan” will be – before starting another official training period and then of course what the next race-specific training plan will be. i’m so envious of your speed!

  6. i missed my new years day 5k! although it’s easier done in warmer weather, so i’m ok with that 🙂

    happy 2009!

  7. good run! great start to the new year!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

