Daily Run: In Between Slices of Cheesecake

January 2, 2009 at 12:07 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 9:15 AM

Weather: Humid but warm

Duration: 45 minutes 14 seconds

Distance:   6 miles

Notes: Well it’s a good thing my New Year’s resolutions did not include “eat less cheesecake,” because MSB and I stayed at his parents house last night and I had some of the best cheesecake of my life. Homemade. With Godiva chocolate.

So after about 9 hours of glorious post-cheesecake sleep, I got up and did a 6-miler. And I must say, I really, really like knowing my exact distance and pace, compliments of the new Garmin. I think the heart rate monitor will prove useful when I begin to do speed workouts.

Speaking of workouts, a few people commented on my last post and asked about mileage in between formal training plans. I don’t really much of an answer; I’ve been exercising daily, but doing as much as I feel like. Last week I ran 34.82 miles with my longest run being 6.62. This week may be a little higher, except I did elliptical on Wednesday so that may lower the mileage. Yesterday’s 9-miler was spontaneous (the best kind of run!). My goal has been to run but allow my legs to continue their recovery.

I’m making decisions about my next race and training plan. The decisions need to be made soon, and I will let you know every detail. I promise. 🙂

In the meantime, entertain yourselves with the Runners of the Year 2008 from Running Times magazine.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. it must be so nice to know the exact stats, especially since you post/track them! awesome! you run more than me even in your recovery time 🙂 you’re def a runner role model for me 🙂

  2. Ahhh cheesecake. Love it. 🙂

  3. homemade cheesecake AND godiva? yum!

  4. can’t turn down cheesecake 🙂

    thought you’d be on the list 😉 good luck with the goals, i’m shooting to figure out my race plans soon… trying to tackle the older to-do list, first!!

  5. oh! That article was entertaining! I’m right there with ya on the holiday eating. As soon as I think I’m done, another cookie or cake is placed in front of me. ah, well.
    Looking forward to seeing what you plan on racing next! Just have fun with running until it’s time to commit again!

  6. mmm more cheesecake. i would’ve needed many more miles to ensure it didn’t make camp in my thighs.
    glad you are recovered and back to ‘regular’ running and i’m looking forward to seeing what’s in store for you next.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

