Food for Fuel: Chicken and Bean Soup

January 6, 2009 at 9:30 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Poultry | 2 Comments

Last night was windy, cold, and rainy–definitely a soup night. Today is similarly gross and I wish I had leftover soup for lunch, but alas.

I was a good blogger last night and made soup from scratch instead of opening a can. I made up my own recipe, which is bad for you because I didn’t measure most of the ingredients. It made an awkward amount of soup anyway; too much for one meal but not enough to bother saving any for another.

I started by browning a clove of garlic and chopped red onion in a pot. I added chopped carrot, red and green bell peppers, and a little jalapeno and cooked the veggies until they softened. Then I added a cup of water, a scoop of black beans, a scoop of refried beans (Old El Paso brand, fat free), about half a can of diced tomatoes, and a healthy scoop of salsa for flavor (Salt Lick Picante). I also added about 1/3 package of Hormel chicken. I brought the soup to a boil, reduced heat, covered the pot, and let it simmer for quite a while. It probably didn’t need to simmer long, but I was taking care of a few other things and just let it go for awhile.

Before removing the soup from the stove, I added sliced green onions and a Green Giant individual broccoli and cheese mix.

dinner_01-05-09

My soup turned out very well and warmed me up for the rest of the evening. I served it with sweet potato fries and Kashi crackers.

Nutrition of this Meal

This soup contains 10 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Garlic
  • Carrots
  • Onion
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Black beans
  • Pinto beans
  • Chicken
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. do you have a crock pot? my mom makes the best soups in hers. it sounds right up your alley!

  2. lol, i just made homemade soup… by opening alot of cans 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

