Daily Run: Recovering, I Hope

January 7, 2009 at 1:11 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Colder than yesterday but clear, calm, and most importantly not raining

Duration: 46 minutes 30 seconds

Distance: 6 miles

Average Pace: 7:45/mile

Average Heart Rate: 162 bpm (It doesn’t say “average” on Garmin, but I’m assuming that’s what the number means)

Notes: So I decided to share my pace and heart rate, since I have that information now. Interesting? Unnecessary?

Anyway, after yesterday’s speed workout in the cold rain, I wasn’t really looking forward to running this morning. I almost went and did the elliptical, which I still think I should do at least once per week, but I’m afraid of the January Gym Rats. There are just so many.

I headed out slowly today. I’m sore from yesterday, even my abs. I expected to be sore, however, and would be disappointed in myself if I wasn’t. One cannot expect fresh legs after her first formal speed workout in at least a year.

The thing about soreness, though, is that the tight muscles pull on my Achilles and my knee and make me think that I’m injured. I’m not; I know from my ART visits that I can roll out and stretch and continue to run, and that I shouldn’t freak out too much about a tight Achilles…but still…I don’t want to be worried on my second day of marathon training.

Don’t forget about the two current See Jess Run giveaways! Enter for free shoes here and a free shirt here.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. By February, all of the Resolution folks stop going to the gym.

  2. hey-o jess 🙂
    winter soreness kicks me in the butt too. do you have a marathon stick or something of that sort? something like an ice bath for me doesn’t sound very appealing right now so maybe a massage?

  3. I like being sore…makes me know I did something! 🙂 Hope you’re not sore too long…then it just gets annoying.
    I like the pace and HR stats…although it only makes me feel super slow sometimes!

  4. chriistina: I use the Trigger Point kit (linked in side bar)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

