Food for Fuel: Stuffed Poblano Pepper

January 7, 2009 at 9:51 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood | 3 Comments

Way back in November, MSB and I had a great dinner at a friend’s house and I have been craving a chile relleno ever since. I made one a while ago, but I burned it and deemed it unblog-worthy. Last night I tried again with success.

My stuffed poblano pepper was not as tasty as Danny’s, and I doubt that Danny would begin a meal by preparing a Gorton’s Fish Fillet (tilapia). Yes, frozen fish, but don’t knock it until you try it, and perhaps don’t try it unless you’re covering it with sauce and cheese.

After removing the fish from the oven, I heated up the broiler. I made a slit in the poblano pepper and removed as many of the seeds as possible, stuck it in a baking pan, and broiled it until it appeared slightly roasted. I flipped it once during the process. It took about 15 minutes total, but make sure to watch it because it will burn quickly!

At the same time, I prepared Uncle Ben’s brown rice and added chopped mushrooms, red onion, canned diced tomatoes, and a little jalapeno pepper. Towards the end of cooking I added a handful of baby spinach, about 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, 1 teaspoon salsa, and a big scoop of refried beans (Old El Paso fat free).

After the rice mixture finished, I put as much as possible in the poblano, topped it with the fish, and topped that with a handful of Mexican blend shredded cheese. I put it back in the broiler until the desired amount of meltiness was achieved.

dinner_01-06-09

Success!

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 8 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Mushrooms
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Pinto beans
  • Brown rice
  • Cumin
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks great! I’m a fan of the frozen fish. And the canned. And the little packets. A healthy, relatively cheap source of protein. And yes, once covered by sauce and cheese, it’s even palatable.

  2. I am reading this as I scarf down two slices of pizza at my desk for lunch. i sooooo need to eat healthier. keep posting these dishes and one day, im going to get off my lazy you know what and make something.

  3. I am a big fan of peppers! It’s funny, my dad used to make stuffed peppers all the time and I refused to eat them. Can you believe that? I think it was you who commented that my family eats well – it definitely is true, but wasn’t always the case with ME! I’ve come a long way 😉 Your meal looks awesome!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

