Food for Fuel: Fish and Beans

January 8, 2009 at 9:46 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Seafood, Vegetable Side Dishes | 5 Comments

Last night I finally got to use one of my Christmas presents: How to Cook Everything, by Mark Bittman. I asked MSB for this cookbook and he delegated it to his parents and bought me jewelry, which is what I secretly wanted anyway, of course.

Anyway, this cookbook is amazing. I consider it quite a feat to come up with 2,000 recipes that look so simple yet delicious. Does anyone else have it? Give me recipe recommendations!

Last night was my first attempt from the book: Fish and Beans. Unfortunately I can’t post the recipe, but it made a very yummy meal in a very short amount of time. If I hadn’t baked a small red-skinned potato to go along with it, dinner would have taken less than 30 minutes to prepare.

I used frozen orange roughy for the fish. Bittman would probably roll his eyes, but it tasted good to me. I used chickpeas for the beans and used a few of Bittman’s variation ideas by including green Swiss chard and the chopped baked potato in the skillet with the beans. I also stirred in some leftover canned diced tomatoes.

On the side, I used another simple recipe for Brussels sprouts, this one from A Veggie Venture. I used frozen Brussels that steam in the microwave, so this was an incredibly fast side dish.

dinner_01-07-09

I didn’t think I would finish that huge pile of vegetables, but it was too good to leave behind.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Brussels sprouts
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Swiss chard
  • Tomatoes
  • Garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
  • Olive oil
  • Parsley
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. awwwwwww…. MSB is so smart. he gets great points for good gift management. 🙂

  2. I’m still waiting for him to surprise me with a house constructed entirely of bean bags so that we can lounge and nap whenever the moment hit us.

  3. how to cook everything- awesome book.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  4. Wow, MSB is too good. Many men can’t pull off the “I want a cookbook for Christmas” challenge.

    Nice job eating your veggies. I am still waiting to hear more about the 10 minute tempo run…

  5. umm, i know, i have the vegetarian one and don’t even know where to start!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

