Cross-training: More Importantly, New Leg Exercises

January 9, 2009 at 2:07 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Strength Training | 11 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min. elliptical

Notes: Some of you may remember my foot and Achilles injuries from White Rock. No, they aren’t back, although my Achilles does feel tight on occasion. However, those injuries have scared me into taking out one easy run a week from my training plan and replacing it with the elliptical. That way I get a good workout while giving my joints an extra day of rest.

Unfortuantely I picked the warmest morning of the week for this day of rest, and the bank clock said 66* when I drove past. Seriously. At least it was a humid, icky 66*, but still.

I chose Friday this week in the hopes that the January Gym Rats would be all, “I’m sleeping in, ‘cuz it’s Friday! And then I’ll eat the donuts in the breakroom, ‘cuz it’s Friday! And then I’ll go out for margaritas after work, ‘cuz it’s Friday! New Year’s diet is only Monday-Thursday, people!”

And I was right, which makes me a little sad, but not really because there are only three ellipticals in my gym. I didn’t push the pace today because I have a long run tomorrow. Luckily, my sister left a Marie Claire magazine at the house and it turned out to be a decent elliptical read.

Strength Training – Thursday Evening, January 8th

Time of Day: 5:20 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 40 minutes

Notes: Finally, gym access on a Thursday evening. Predictably, the gym was crowded, but at least I got in a second strength training workout this week and my big Monday workout should not make me as sore this time. Also, I finally got to incorporate the leg exercises that I’ve chosen in the hopes that they will make me faster and less likely to get injured. I’ll still be doing my home therapy exercises in addition.

I did an easier version of Monday’s upper body exercises, a few of my favorite Ultimate Abs exercises (linked in sidebar), and my new leg exercises. I started very easy on the legs because new leg exercises make Cranky Knee angry. The exercises seemed a little too easy when I was doing them and I’m not as sore as expected, so I will probably add more reps next time.

2 x 15 reps of the following:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly

1 x 15 reps of the following:

  • Biceps curls on stability ball
  • Tricep dips
  • Lateral shoulder raises with a dumbbell
  • Dumbbell shoulder press on stability ball

Core exercises (all of these in Ultimate Abs):

  • Back extensions, 25 reps
  • Swiss hip extension, 3 x 7 reps
  • Erect lateral bends, 15 reps each side
  • Turkish get-ups, 15 reps each side

Legs:

This Weekend

I haven’t been home on the weekend since December 7th, the weekend before I traveled to Dallas for my marathon. I’ll finally be home this weekend, but my dad is visiting from Germany! He gets here tonight and leaves Wednesday, which is a very short visit and I will still have to work my normal hours. So, I may not be posting this weekend, it depends if we stay around the house or not during our limited time together. Don’t worry, there will be some cookie recipes soon. Dad has a sweet tooth.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ah the dreaded elliptical. i have actually never uesd one to be completely honest. i should start cross training more… but i don’t. haha. my rest days are monday after the long run, and i plan on taking a complete day off. what day do you think is best to incorporate strength work?

    have fun seeing your dad!

  2. Have fun with your dad! The sweet tooth doesn’t fall far from the mouth, does it, as the saying doesn’t go…

  3. Matt: I use my off day (also Monday) for strength, but only upper body and core. The legs need to have a complete day off. Any other day for leg work is fine.

  4. oooooooooo yay for a visit from your dad – have fun!

  5. YAY so exciting about your dad!!! awesome 🙂 and great idea with the xt replacement day 🙂

  6. ooh, have fun with your dad 🙂

  7. Enjoy your weekend!

  8. Enjoy your weekend with your dad! Can’t wait to see what yummy cookies you bake up this weekend!

    I think for my long run this weekend I’ll branch out of my usual Hermann park/Rice area and go into those neighborhoods as well…I need a little more area to cover now! Thanks for the tip…I hadn’t thought to go there! But I know I’ve driven through and seen some nice, big, pretty houses…now I can run by and see them and it’ll be a nice quiet neighborhood! 🙂

  9. nice job!!! those are the leg exercises i am going to try out as well… thank you for referring me to them!

  10. […] my run, I did my new leg exercises, except for the Balance Run because I did them at home and don’t have a balance […]

  11. gotta love those committed resolution-ers. at least they won’t get in the way everyday of the week.

    as i soaked in my lovely ice bath this afternoon i read the february runner’s world and saw an article about kinesio tape and an example for taping up the achilles. thought of you, so just wanted to pass the info along in case you wanted to try it (/if it was still bothering you).
    http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-241-286–13016-0,00.html


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

