Food for Fuel: Braised Tofu with Eggplant and Shiitakes

January 9, 2009 at 10:03 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Tofu, Vegetarian Entrees | 4 Comments

Last night I made my second recipe from How to Cook Everything: Braised Tofu with Eggplant and Shiitakes. I loved it, and it was just as easy as the Fish and Beans recipe.

I prepared the tofu by baking it, which is optional but my favorite way to eat tofu. I sliced the block into 8 pieces, sprayed them with cooking spray, and baked at 425* for 35-40 minutes, flipping once. I used three of the slices for this recipe, which I cut into smallish chunks.

I wish I could share the entire recipe with you, but really you just need to soften the eggplant and combine everything in a skillet. I added a few of Bittman’s optional ingredients: chile garlic paste, grated fresh ginger, sesame seeds, and scallions. The sesame seeds and scallions were used as garnishes after cooking.

I served the recipe over soba noodles. One of the optional ingredients was sesame oil, which I added to the cooked noodles instead of the skillet. Sesame oil keeps the noodles from sticking together. Also, I love the smell of sesame oil on hot noodles. Yum!

dinner_01-08-09

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Tofu
  • Sesame seeds
  • Buckwheat
  • Ginger
  • Soy sauce
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds good. Soba noodles are one of my favorite foods ever. I’ve been thinking of getting How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Bittman, so it’s nice to see your reviews from this version.

  2. Mmm it looks delicious!

  3. ooooh once again, sounds amazing!

  4. this looks fantastic! i have a pkg of soba i’ve been meaning to try…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

