Daily Run: It’s Nice to Run in Daylight

January 11, 2009 at 12:19 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 7:55 AM

Weather: Cold but sunny and beautiful and not windy

Duration: 1 hour 1 minute 18 seconds

Distance: 8 miles

Average Pace: 7:40/mile

Average Heart Rate: 160 bpm

Notes: My legs felt great this morning, despite going on their longest run in over a month yesterday. The weather was stunning–just above freezing, but brilliantly sunny and not windy enough to make me uncomfortable. I felt great in my compression tights.

I’m starting to warm up to my Garmin. I love seeing my pace for each mile and I’m amazed at how much the hills actually affect each mile time. I guess that’s why my average pace on a run through Houston with stiff, sluggish legs actually ends up faster than a great run through my own hilly area. I have yet to get into the heart rate monitor, but it has potential. It could be a great tool if I figure out how high my heart rate needs to be on speed intervals and recovery runs.

In bad news, I’m having pain behind my left knee. It appears to be muscular and hurts most on uphills. Also, my quad pain is still present, although slight. Tomorrow is a rest day/upper body strength day and not a second too soon.

After my run, I did my new leg exercises, except for the Balance Run because I did them at home and don’t have a balance board.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. glad you had a great run! it’s amazing how much those hills effect your pace huh? sometimes i hate those hills!

  2. gah, hills!

  3. i love hills… when i’m passing people in a race anyway. 🙂 otherwise they suck. hope your knee and quad are feeling better!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

