Food for Fun: Favorite Cookies for Dad

January 11, 2009 at 2:35 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | 4 Comments

My Favorite Cookies Ever

I’ve been baking the same oatmeal chocolate chip cookies since I was four years old. Over the past twenty years, I’ve tweaked the recipe into utter perfection. Perfection to me, that is, and perfection to the rest of my immediate family. The trick is to take them out of the oven at the right time, which can take practice.

And so when I spoke to my dad on the phone before he came to visit, we discussed the cookies:

Me: What kind of food do you need me to get?  Normal milk?

Dad: What kind of milk do you have now?

Me: Soy

Dad: OH goodness no!

Me: Ok…and do you want cookies, or are you on a New Year’s diet?

Dad: If we’re talking about your chocolate chip cookies, then yes, I want them.

I made a half batch, because I wanted to try a new cookie as well, but here’s my recipe in full batch form.

Ingredients

1 cup butter (I’ve used a variety of margarines and spreads that you aren’t supposed to use for baking, including Promise Light and all have returned delicious cookies. But I think that’s just me.)

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 heaping tsp. cinnamon, plus a few shakes if you’re like me and really like cinnamon

1/4 – 1/2 tsp. salt

3 cups Old-fashioned oats

1 regular bag semi-sweet chocolate chunks, or more to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*

Beat together butter and sugars

Add eggs and vanilla

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt and add to wet ingredients

Stir in oats and chocolate.

Form into balls of desired size and bake. This usually takes 10-12 minutes, but depends on size of cookies. It is important to take them out of the oven before they look completely done. Let cool and they will be perfect.

favorite_oatmeal_chocchip

The picture makes them look deceptively normal.

Chips Gone Wild

Normally I would be perfectly content making my favorite cookies, but I had a bunch of cookie ingredients leftover from baking Christmas cookies, so I decided to try this recipe and use up as many of those ingredients as possible. I altered the recipe for my on-hand ingredients, using Cocoa Pebbles in place of the crisp rice cereal (I bought Cocoa Pebbles for MSB’s birthday cookies, and they are a much better cookie ingredient than breakfast cereal). Instead of the butterscotch chips, I used chopped Andes mint candies. I didn’t have enough for an entire cup of Andes, so I added milk chocolate chips as well. I also used the white chips and semi-sweet chips called for in the recipe.

chips_gone_wild

These are so good! They’re a little crispy and just full of chocolate. The Andes mints didn’t make them completely minty, but added a little complexity in that you get a bite of mint now and then while eating the cookie.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ooh, cookies 🙂 love your dad’s answers!

  2. Mmmmmm….cookie!

  3. So I just ran out of my christmas cookie leftovers that I had in the freezer, and rather than have a normal response like “thankfully those cookies are gone! I’ve been eating them everyday for a month,” my only thought is “Crap! I’m out of cookies! Must make more!”

  4. Love oatmeal cookies! Thanks for the recipe.

    Also, dad’s comment about the soy milk is too funny. My family is always wary of my “weird” ingredients!

    Heather


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

