Daily Run: Cold Recovery, and I Don’t Mean Soup

January 14, 2009 at 1:49 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 5 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: 21* but blissfully calm. Still, coldest temp. in a while for this area

Duration: 53 minutes 36 seconds

Distance: 7 miles

Average Pace: 7:39/mile

Average Heart Rate: 152 bpm

Notes: It was cold this morning, and if I had not been for last night’s Tex-Mex, I would have wondered why I bother living in Texas. But, after reviewing the temperatures of other states and knowing that a dedicated few are heading out for their runs anyway, I am not going to waste any energy on complaining. I was decently comfortable in my compression tights, after all.

My legs were more than pleased when I set out at an easy pace. I’m surprised by my Garmin pace of 7:39/mile, because I felt much slower. I’ve found an unexpected upside to speedwork: in between workouts I get to do recovery runs, and I can go as slowly as I please. It’s such a nice feeling. In fact, I must go slowly in order to recover and be ready for my tempo run tomorrow.

Adding to my recovery run bliss: another glimpse of sunrise–just a little pink light at the horizon. The days are getting longer, people, there is hope of spring and warm weather and sunshine in the future.

Don’t forget to enter the Two Knobby Tires running shirt giveaway! The contest will end at 12 AM this Friday (Jan. 16th) and I will announce the winner that day.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i also love that about recovery runs… run however slow i want 🙂

    i wish the days would get longer sooner! but there is hope 🙂

  2. i agree, the variation in working really hard one day and actively recovering the next day feels wonderful, like a small reward 🙂 and you’re getting faster through it all.

  3. haha i wish my route had restrooms… well i guess when i got to campus it wouldn’t be a problem. see, the route i run is sort of through the ghetto, so i wouldn’t feel safe stopping at one of the local gas stations or a barber shop.

  4. i think the high here today was 21 degrees… i wish my ‘recovery’ pace was in the 7:30s, or 7:xx’s period!

  5. apparently (colon)(x) makes a mad face… i just meant to say 7 : x x


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

