If You’re Ever in Austin, Texas…

January 14, 2009 at 11:01 am | Posted in Food, Pizza, Poultry, Restaurants | 7 Comments

My dad has left for Germany and I am sad, but we had a great time together. And, for blogging purposes, we ate some great food. In fact, we ate out with a big group of family members each night. Here are the times I snuck in some pictures.

Saturday

My grandfather’s surprise 80th birthday party. My dad and uncle flew in from Germany and Norway and he had no idea they were coming. I saw my cousin who I haven’t seen in over 5 years and met her husband and youngest child. We went to Reale’s Pizza & Cafe, where I have been before and love sooo much. Dad and I split a chef salad and The Roasted Pie, a spicy pizza with roasted peppers, garlic, and onions.

dinner_01-10-09

It was really good, but I think I prefer Reale’s entrees. I think I like the pizza at Collina’s in Houston a little better.

dad_me_01-10-09

Look Dad, you’re famous!

Tuesday

My grandparents seem to have a talent for finding great hole-in-the-wall restaurants. Jardin Corona is one of them. They have a huge menu full of all kinds of Tex-Mex and classic Mexican food. Huge margaritas. Huge.

I had the Pollo Tequila–chicken marinated in tequila. It was served with borracho beans, rice, avocado, cheese, lettuce, cheese, and pico de gallo. It was really good and semi-healthy for a Tex-Mex dish. I wasn’t about to skip that cheese though!

dinner_01-13-09

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aww that’s a great picture of you and your dad! I don’t know how you deal with fam being so far away!!!! wow!

  2. Awww sorry your dad had to leave!

    Those are some good eats though! How I miss the amazing Mexican food of Texas…

  3. Thanks for those restaurants. I’m in Austin all the time (to see my 17-month-old son) and I am soooo tired of eating Rounders Pizza (even though its good). Will try the digs you listed.

  4. All that cheese looks delicious. Glad you didn’t skip it 😀

    Your dad is totally famous!

  5. Dad in Germany? Uncle in Norway? And if I recall a previous fact of the week correctly, your mother is originally from the U.K.? Quite the global family! It’s so sweet that they came from afar for your grandfather’s 80th birthday.

  6. […] It was cold this morning, and if I had not been for last night’s Tex-Mex, I would have wondered why I bother living in Texas. But, after reviewing the temperatures of other […]

  7. glad you had a good visit with pops. can’t believe your family is so spread out! i hope you are taking advantage of the world-traveling opportunities!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

