Food for Fuel: Eggplant Curry

January 15, 2009 at 11:32 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Tofu, Vegetarian Entrees | 4 Comments

After four nights in a row of eating out at restaurants, I was ready to do some cooking of my own. Last night I needed to use up the rest of an eggplant, so I decided to make Baingan Bharta, and eggplant curry that I’ve made before and really wanted to eat again. I made half the recipe, but this time I made it a little differently to use up some other items in my fridge. Also, I didn’t have ginger garlic paste (nor do I know what it is), so I mixed together minced garlic and ground ginger. I also didn’t have cilantro. I only added a little jalapeno because I only had a tiny piece left.

I added canned diced tomatoes, mushrooms, chickpeas, and tofu leftover from the Chinese restaurant on Monday (no one else wanted the tofu, so allll for meeee). Towards the end of cooking, I added a little less than half a bag of baby spinach and stirred it in until wilted.

I had 1/3 cup of Uncle Ben’s instant brown rice left in the box, so I cooked it and added it to the mixture.

dinner_01-14-09

The picture shows a little over half of the recipe. I saved the rest for lunch. It was delicious; very mildly spiced. I’m not sure if using actual ginger garlic paste would make it spicier or not.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 12 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Yogurt
  • Tofu
  • Garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
  • Brown rice
  • Cumin
  • Ginger
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the eggplant + spinach combination. I will have to try adding tofu + chickpeas for a protein boost. (By the way, the garlic-ginger paste is pretty much just a lazy person’s minced ginger + minced garlic with a little preservative thrown in. I prefer using fresh like you did.)

  2. are you kidding? i made this the other night, and am posting tomorrow 🙂 love the addition of chickpeas, i thought about doing that to mine!

  3. This looks delicious! I love all the healthy ingredients and I’ve been all over eggplant lately.

    Also, re: your fact – you should really take care of your car. As my dad would say, oil is the life line of a car. 😀 Sorry I am such a dork.

  4. it is really true???


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

