Cross-training, Strength Training, a Question, and a Big Shout Out

January 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Racing, Strength Training | 6 Comments

Strength Training – Thursday Evening, Jan. 15th

Time of Day: 5:30 PM

Weather: Climate-controlled

Duration: About 40 minutes

Notes: So it occurred to me today that when I post both my morning workout and the workout from the night before, I always go in reverse chronological order.  And that just does not make sense. Silly me, I will correct this now.

Yesterday I brought my Garmin to work with me so that I could view the data before updating my blog and then use it again in the evening to track my heart rate while lifting weights. My Garmin spent the afternoon beeping at me from my purse and eventually letting the battery run out completely, so no heart rate experiment for me.

Ironically, I forgot my Ipod at home, charging its battery. It was a music-less, stopwatch-less workout. At least some of the January Gym Rats have given up already. (I feel guilty for being happy about that).

Anyway, I did the same workout as last Thursday, but added a few reps to some of the leg exercises. My workout is feeling easier!

2 x 15 reps of the following:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly

1 x 15 reps of the following:

  • Biceps curls on stability ball
  • Tricep dips
  • Lateral shoulder raises with a dumbbell
  • Dumbbell shoulder press on stability ball

Core exercises (all of these in Ultimate Abs):

  • Back extensions, 25 reps
  • Swiss hip extension, 3 x 7 reps
  • Erect lateral bends, 15 reps each side
  • Turkish get-ups, 15 reps each side

Legs:

  • Squats with a stability ball between my back and a wall, 2 x 10 reps
  • Balance run, usually 3 x 30 seconds, but I had no stopwatch so I guesstimated
  • Heel raises, 1 x 8 each leg
  • Hamstring push-up, 1 x 8 each leg

Cross-training – Today, Jan. 16th

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Climate-controlled, yet freezing

Duration: 50 min. elliptical

Notes: I remembered my Ipod. In fact, after lifting weights without it last night, I immediately put it in my purse so I wouldn’t forget it this morning. I also put my Self magazine where I would see it before leaving. Must have distractions lined up for elliptical.

I can tell I trained hard this week; my quads took time to warm-up on the elliptical and my body felt tired for most of the workout. I have a long run tomorrow so I didn’t push the pace. I did, however, get through my entire Self magazine. I even took a quiz to determine if I will be overweight in the future.

That’s right, January issue of Self contains a quiz with a series of questions determining whether or not you will end up overweight. According to the quiz, I will not be overweight, but I already knew that, Self, and I don’t need you nagging me for not biking to work either. I do not have time to bike 60 miles a day. My bad.

No wonder women have body issues.

This silly little quiz got me thinking, however, about how often we are faced with Fat Talk from the media. Don’t do that, you’ll get fat! Do this or succumb to a lifetime of obesity!

So my question: Is the quiz offensive? Or, is America’s obesity level so high that we actually need this information pushed in our face? Do we need to calm down or do we need a strict lecture and some tough love?

And now, on to a completely different topic…

A Big Shout Out

I’m headed to Houston for the weekend, which means quality time with MSB and a nice, flat long run. Many other runners are headed to Houston this weekend as well to run the Chevron Houston Marathon. It’s going to be a huge event and several of my friends will be running their very first half marathon, so…

Good Luck Austin, Zeena, and Kate! Run fast and have fun!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. how long is your long run this weekend?

    i think the american obesity epidemic is out of hand, but i think it’s their own problem. its common sense why or why not you are overweight. people don’t need to be told how to eat, they need to think for themselves. i eat more than most people i know, yet i’m a twig. i eat the right thing, excercise, and take care of myself. is that what you were looking for or did i go on a rant?

  2. Yay, Houston! I’m heading out for the running expo tomorrow (yay freebies!) and the marathon on Sunday…it’s just a marathon-filled weekend! I’m pretty excited since this will be the first marathon I’ve attended!
    Hope you enjoy your nice, flat run this weekend!

  3. hi there!i am from argentina just knew u blog,is nice,but do u really train at 5 in the morning?is the gym open?why so early?

  4. Matt: That is a great answer and thanks for chiming in. My long run was 14-16 miles and I did 15.
    Justy2003: Where are you going to watch the marathon? I thought about going but not sure yet.
    LOLA: Thanks! My gym opens at 6, but sometimes a few minutes before. I go that early because I need to go before work.

  5. I know a couple people running the marathon and I think we’re meeting up with some others at mile 7 (Memorial and Studemont I think?) then heading to mile 21 later on. And I’m definitely wanting to head to the finish line around 9:00 to see the first people coming in! The boyfriend and I have bikes so we’re gonna just go where we can and not hafta worry about parking (woo-hoo!). Someone had said that Main is a good place to watch, too…over by the med center I guess. They said it’s not too busy there usually. I’ll just be biking all around Houston following the marathoners 🙂

  6. I admire u!!how can u get up so early?at that time i can bearly open my eyes!Can´t u go after work¡?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

