Food for Fuel: Fried Egg Veggie Stack

January 16, 2009 at 11:09 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Vegetarian Entrees | 6 Comments

I felt like experimenting a little last night. Also, I felt like making something quick so I could catch up on the episode of 24 on my DVR. I decided to use up my last Dr. Praeger’s California Veggie Burger. Sidenote: I really like the taste of these burgers, but they fall apart. I’ll put them in a bun and big chunks will fall out. A little annoying.

dinner_01-15-09

A veggie burger, while definitely one of my go-to quick meals, is not blog-worthy, nor does it satisfy my wish to experiment in the kitchen. Thus, the Fried Egg Veggie Stack was born.

First, I sauteed a clove of garlic, red onion, red bell pepper, and Swiss chard until the chard wilted. I removed the vegetables to a plate.

Next, I cooked the veggie burger and removed it to a plate.

And then I fried an egg and removed it to a plate. Let the stacking commence. I apologize for the poor photo quality. I had to take them quickly so my toast wouldn’t burn.

I put a slice of Pepperide Farm 100% whole wheat bread in the skillet, buttered on one side with fat-free Promise Light. I stacked some of the cooked vegetables on top of the bread.

dinner2_01-15-09

I added the Dr. Praeger’s burger on top of the veggies and covered it with a little fat free mozzarella (not shown, but oh so present).

dinner3_01-15-09

On top of that, I added more of the veggies and then the fried egg.

dinner4_01-15-09

On top of the egg, a slice of Finlandia gouda.

dinner5_01-15-09

After the cheese melted, I removed the stack and capped it off with tomato slices.

dinner6_01-15-09

And served it with sweet potato fries, seasoned with salt, pepper, and paprika. A successful experiment.

Nutrition of this Meal

This does not include the ingredients in the Dr. Praeger’s burger because I don’t have the list in front of me. This meal contains 9 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Swiss chard
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Eggs
  • Whole wheat
6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love veggie burgers with an egg on top sandwich! it’s my all time favorite thing. and dr. praeger’s burgers are SO SQUISHY that’s the one thing i don’t like about them. i prefer the crispy veggie burgers.

  2. there was a bar that served a fried egg on top of a burger. i never tried it, but was always intrigued…

  3. That looks GOOD. I love that your “something quick” is so creative, and also that it includes Finlandia cheese.

  4. I never eat Dr. Ps in a bun because of the fall apart factor, but I do like to crumble and scramble them w/ eggs.

  5. that meal looks GREAT. how you managed to eat that tasty stack of food is beyond me 🙂

    i saw those burgers at CostCo i think. maybe i’ll try them out sometime (but not buy them in bulk at first)

  6. that looks awesome! i love those veggie burgers.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

