Daily Run: Confidence Boost

January 17, 2009 at 4:00 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 14 Comments

Time of Day: 8:15 AM

Weather: Perfect running weather. I envy those running the Houston Marathon tomorrow.

Duration: 1 hour 53 minutes 18 seconds

Distance: 15 miles

Average Pace: 7:35/mile

Average Heart Rate: 153 bpm

Notes: I had a wonderful run this morning. It was 50* when I headed out in a tank top and shorts–such a difference from bundling up for my run on Thursday. The weather became quite warm towards the end of my run. The Houston Marathon (and half marathon!) racers should have a good time tomorrow.

Back to my wondrous long run…I averaged almost 20 seconds per mile faster than last week’s 12-miler. I guess that’s the difference between running a hilly course on a windy, cold day and running a flat course on a climactically (is that a word? I’m making it one.) perfect day. I definitely feel like running in Houston is kinder on my body, so I’m happy to be able to do my long run here once in a while, even though MSB has a bare kitchen. At least he has peanut butter, which is all I really need.

I’m proud of this week’s mile times, so I’m going to report them. Don’t get used to this.

In order: 7:54, 7:41, 7:32, 7:33, 7:34, 7:40, 7:31, 7:38, 7:36, 7:42, 7:40, 7:40, 7:33, 7:28, 7:06

As you can see, I felt particularly strong at the end of my run. I aimed for 14 miles and decided to tack an extra one on at the end. The consistency in mile times this week also shows the flatness of the terrain around here. My mile times were all over the place last week.

Greek food, by the way, is excellent Fuel. So is carrot cake.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. nice run jess! that weather is so awesome. tomorrow is a high of 48 i think, so it should be 38 or 40 when i head out which isn’t bad.

  2. i LOVE long runs. it just sets the day off so right! looks like you had a great average pace too- nice!!

  3. awesome!!

  4. I agree, the weather today was pretty great for running! Hopefully it stays that way for the marathon tomorrow!
    Awesome time on your run! I’m always so impressed! And especially that last mile…you must have been feelin’ good!

  5. So jealous of how fast you are.

    I love love love carrot cake. Especially from the Cheesecake Factory b/c their servings are humongous!

  6. ok. these times are awesome. just awesome. and i slugged around fort worth this morning in temps quite cooler and only manged a 8:30 m/m average on a 16-mile run. What’s my excuse?

  7. WOW!!! great run jess!!!! no looking back you are going forward forward forward, and to think you just barely ran your first marathon. you are so talented!

  8. Impressive! And just after a marathon, too.
    And I agree, Greek food is the best running fuel anytime.

  9. quick question… when you trained for white rock, how many 20 milers did you do?

  10. awesome job on the run!!! i like your new word… climactically 🙂

  11. Hey fellow carrotcakelovah,

    How was your weekend?

    fraught with running? football watching?

  12. Matt: I did 2 20-milers but had 3 on the schedule. I had to take one out because of injuries.
    MizFit: No football watching for me. Yay!

  13. do you think that the two prepared you enough? my schedule has 4, and i’m not sure i can handle that. i was thinking of cutting one out.

  14. […] quite slowly. Maybe it was the weather, maybe the hills, or maybe I’m just comparing it to last weekend’s fantastic 15-miler, but I felt lacking in energy today. My legs felt fine, my knee held up well, but I felt […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

