Food for Fuel: My Go-To Banana Bread Recipe

January 19, 2009 at 1:07 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, Nutrition | 8 Comments

Last week I bought extra bananas because my dad and uncle were staying with me. They didn’t touch the extra bananas. I feel like I’ve been baking too many cookies lately and decided to use them for something healthy, so I turned to my favorite banana bread recipe last Thursday night so that I could bring some bread to MSB when I went to Houston for the weekend. 

This is a really healthy banana bread recipe, even more healthy because I leave out the chocolate chips (gasp!). Chocolate chips, as we all know, are reserved for cookie baking. This bread recipe is great as written, but this time I decided to experiment by using 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup bread flour, and fat free Promise Light instead of the butter. I still have some soy pudding leftover from baking pumpkin muffins, so I decided to try that instead of yogurt. All my substitutions worked beautifully.

banana_bread

(Yes, I need to spend some time with my camera and try to figure out this whole photography thing.)

This recipe is so good. It seems impossible that such healthy ingredients can combine to create a bread that tastes so rich and buttery (and doesn’t contain actual butter!). Using all-purpose flour instead of whole wheat flour will create a light and fluffy bread, but I really like the whole wheat/bread flour combination.

Best served warm and smeared with (salmonella-free) peanut butter:

banana_bread21

What? You thought I was going to give MSB the entire loaf?

Nutrition of this Recipe

This bread contains 5 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bananas
  • Eggs
  • Soybeans (in the pudding)
  • Cinnamon
  • Whole wheat

Make that 6 ingredients if you add peanut butter. 😉

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks great. Love banana bread (especially with added peanut butter, since that is what I’m currently eating)

    http://theidleloaf.wordpress.com

  2. I love banana breads! I’ve never made one on my own though, so maybe I’ll hafta give this one a try! However, I usually eat all my bananas before they go bad…maybe I’ll hafta buy some extras 😉

  3. banana bread. yum yum.

    i’ve never thought about spreading peanut butter over it- i will try that very soon. 🙂

  4. i have some spotty bananas i might need to make some bread out of 🙂

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  5. i made that banana bread tonight! well it’s in the oven, so it’s almost made. thanks for the recipe jess!

    i also think i am going to cut out one of the 20 milers and just do 3. i think if i do 4, i’ll be beat before i even run the marathon. what do you think? i’ll have a few 18’s and 16’s with 3 20 miles.

  6. Aww…I want some banana bread! That looks delicious!

  7. MMmm, banana bread

  8. Matt: Glad you tried it and hope you like it! Also, I think 3 20-milers will be perfect. I only have 3 at the most on my schedule.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

