Daily Run: Hitting Those Times

January 20, 2009 at 2:06 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 12 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: 45* and breezy

Interval Workout: Warm up, 2 x (800m, 600, 400, 200) with 1 minute jog between intervals and 5 minutes jog between sets, Cooldown

Total Duration: 1 hour 0 minutes 36 seconds

Total Distance: 8 miles

Average Heart Rate: 162 bpm

Notes: This workout marks week 3 of the Great Return to Speedwork, and I finally hit all my goal times. This is exciting because I was very intimidated by this workout because at 5K-10K pace, it’s faster than I’ve had to go in awhile. Also, I’m still having some leg pain (ART appointment tomorrow).

It appears, however, that I had nothing to worry about. Yes, the speed intervals were uncomfortable. Yes, they made me cough up a lung. But no, the leg wasn’t bad and I racked up some nice data:

First set
800m (goal 3:00-3:07): 3:01
600m (goal 2:22-2:30): 2:17
400m (goal 1:30-1:34): 1:31
200m (goal 0:45-0:47): 0:46

Second set
800m (goal 3:00-3:07): 3:03
600m (goal 2:22-2:30): 2:16
400m (goal 1:30-1:34): 1:29
200m (goal 0:45-0:47): 0:45

The 600 meter intervals were the hardest. I was decently fresh for the 800 meter intervals, but had to do the 600s just one minute after completion. For me, the best part of a speed workout is the cooldown. I’m tired and slow, but I know all the hard work is behind me and I can jog to my heart’s content.

I feel compelled to go to the gym this evening and lift weights, since I didn’t get to go yesterday. However, I also have a hair appointment, so it may or may not happen. I’m vain about my hair, but I’m also vain about my muscles, so I’ll try to make it an evening of vanity and squeeze in both.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Damn jess is fast! What’s up with your knee? I hope everything heals up quickly!

  2. YAY! I’m a “cat person” too! I love reading your facts of the week (and the rest of the blog too)! BTW, I’m also a dog, goat, cow and any other kind of furry animal person, but my first love was cats and always will be! 🙂

  3. Great speed workout!
    Love your note about being vain about your hair and your muscles! 🙂

  4. i love the cool down after a speedworkout too! but i also like the recovery in-between.

    one time at spin class the instructor said the BEST motivator that i think about every time before a workout: “push, push, push…EARN that recovery.”

  5. Great job! Good luck with your vanity! 😉

  6. awesome job on that speed workout!!! hope you get the weights AND hair in tonight 🙂

  7. Have you figured out a way to improve your bangs yet?

  8. Once again, so impressed by your running. You are a real runner, whereas I am a total wannabe! Anyway, I am also a cat person. Cats rule. Dogs drool.

  9. ahhh i’m so far behind i need to catch up on your posts i just spotted some banana bread, gotta go read and drool!! hehehe. way to go speed work!!! that’s awesome you hit your times right on the money.

  10. Ah, vanity can be so productive. Good luck fitting it all in, and great speedwork– looks like you’ve mastered hitting the prescribed times!

  11. wow how awesome is that. you rock 🙂

  12. super nice job! you are doing a killer job on these speed days and jumping right into your goal paces.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

