Food for Fuel: Poached Eggs Over Rice

January 20, 2009 at 9:24 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Tofu, Vegetarian Entrees | 3 Comments

I had a great speed workout this morning. That is not the topic of this post, but it helps qualify last night’s dinner as excellent Fuel. Although I suppose it could have been the day of complete rest–not lifting weights in the morning followed by lying on the couch and watching 24 in the evening instead of doing anything productive.

But anyway, I’ve been meaning to try Heidi Swanson’s entree recipes for quite some time.  I’ve made several of her cookie recipes and they are delicious, but  sometimes I like to eat food other than cookies. Crazy, I know.

So last night I made her recipe for Poached Eggs Over Rice. I used a new brown and wild rice blend that I bought this past Sunday, and once that was done cooking the rest of the meal only took 10-15 minutes. I threw in some wheatberries with the rice for extra tastiness.

I used baked tofu leftover from last week, Swiss chard for my greens, and added a carrot and mushrooms. Also, I used a microwave egg poacher. I’ve never poached eggs in a pot of simmering water and I’m relatively sure I would mess it up royally.

dinner_01-19-09

A good, simple, one bowl recipe. I need to make more of Heidi Swanson’s food.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Carrots
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Swiss chard
  • Eggs
  • Tofu
  • Olive oil
  • Brown rice

I’m doing a decent job of lowering my grocery bill, which was one of my New Year’s resolutions. However, I know I can do a better job. I think my problem is that I find recipes that I really want to try and then buy those ingredients, instead of just working with what I currently have on hand. So, over the next few weeks I will be trying to use up things in my pantry and freezer and only buy fresh produce and things I really need, like milk and cereal. This means that you will see a lot of rice dishes, beans, frozen fish, etc and no fresh meat.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ooh, yum. i’ve been meaning to try poached eggs… maybe i’ll copy you again this week 🙂

  2. I love poached eggs and would never have thought of the brown rice beneath.
    Im plain so those 2 and nothing else? my dream dish 🙂

  3. I never would have thought of the egg/rice combo! I am the same way with my grocery shopping. Lately I’ve been trying to cook more so I end up buying all this stuff for certain dishes and have a bunch of extra things left over. I’m hoping it will eventually even out!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

