Daily Run and Strength Training: Slowness and Vanity Achieved

January 21, 2009 at 3:09 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Strength Training | 8 Comments

Strength Training – Tuesday Evening, Jan. 20th

Time of Day: 6:40 PM

Weather: Climate-controlled

Duration: About 35 minutes

Notes: My hair appointment took longer than planned (my stylist is good, but she is slowww), and I definitely did not want to go lift weights afterwards.  But…I didn’t want to have to go today either, and I was in the neighborhood anyway, so I went. I was not rewarded by a nice, empty gym. Quite the opposite, in fact: I didn’t do use the lateral pulldown machine like usual because a man was on it literally the entire time I was there. Lifting a little, resting, lifting a little, being lazy and in the way, etc. Some people have no gym etiquette.

But I got it done and had a good workout in a relatively short amount of time.  Here’s what I did:

2 x 15 reps of the following:

  • Lat row
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly

1 x 15 reps of the following:

  • Biceps curls on stability ball
  • Tricep dips
  • Lateral shoulder raises with a dumbbell
  • Dumbbell shoulder press on stability ball

Core exercises (all of these in Ultimate Abs):

  • Back extensions, 25 reps
  • Birddogs, 1 set of 24 reps each side
  • I did planks and side planks in the morning before running, so I didn’t do these at the gym last night.

Legs:

In lieu of the lat pulldown, I put my feet on a stability ball and did push-ups until I had to stop at 31 reps. Then I took a short break and did 10 more. I wore my heartrate monitor as an experiment. Conclusion: lifting weights doesn’t get it up very high, except when doing push-ups, but does raise it a fair amount.

Then I finally went home to my DVRed coverage of the Inauguration. I envisioned myself sharing the story with my grandchildren: that long ago, Grandma made a veggie burger while watching the inauguration of the first African-American President, and ironed her work clothes while listening to him speak, but was touched and inspired despite the mediocrity of her food and chores. Maybe my grandchildren and I will be watching the inauguration of the first female, homosexual, Muslim President while I tell them the story, and they’ll think, “Wow, we’ve seen Presidents of all races and walks of life; Grandma must be really old if she remembers the inauguration of the very first black President. And yet, she doesn’t look a day over 25.” And then maybe they’ll ask, “Grandma, what’s ironing?”, because hopefully we’ll have invented a much better method of getting creases out of clothing by then.*

Daily Run

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: The high today will be in the 70s, but it was 27* for my run. Thanks, Mother Nature.

Duration: 48 minutes

Distance: 6.12 miles

Average Pace: 7:51/mile

Average Heart Rate: 151 bpm

Notes: I needed a slow, easy run this morning. Thankfully, that’s exactly what was on the schedule. I don’t have much to say about this run: it was cold and dark, but I was grateful for a chance to run slowly and therapeutically. Also, my ART appointment went well today. I’m sure my doctor thinks I’m a hypochondriac by now.

I hope the recovery run refreshed my legs. Tomorrow’s tempo run looks much more intimidating than last week’s.

*Bonus Jess Fact of the Week: Ironing is my most lacking domestic skill. 
8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haha! Ironing is one of my lacking skills too…oh and cleaning the toilet – I leave that up to the hubs! 🙂

  2. i wish i had your motivation when it comes to lifting weights. i like the results, i just HATE the process!

    nice workouts though. you psyched for big d?

  3. Haha, I totally agree about the ironing thing! That used to be my weekly chore growing up and now I avoid it as much as possible. I bought a new ironing board in October and I still haven’t even used it. Whoops! The dryer seems to do a fine job most of the time 🙂

  4. ahhh what a cute little note at the end. it painted THE most perfect picture in my head. when i watch something as historical as…obama’s inauguration…those kinds of things always go through my head. i mean, as unrealistic as it seems, we are LIVING what history books will write about. our country is moving in the right direction.

  5. Your story about watching the inauguration was priceless. Too funny. I had a similar moment myself. 🙂 Glad you were able to achieve all areas of vanity.

  6. i hate inconsiderate people at the gym!! did you turn all sorts of heads with the new do? 🙂

  7. hahaha i can’t believe a guy was on the machine the whole time!!! you shoulda “worked in” hahaha… and i bet your hair looked GREAT for that workout:)

  8. Then your grandkids will ask what a DVR is.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

