Daily Run: Tempo? Still No, but a New Personal Record

January 22, 2009 at 1:16 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 7 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: 41* Gloves came off!  Sleeves rolled up!

Duration: 1 hour 8 minutes 19 seconds

Distance: 9.25 miles total with 2 x 15 minutes tempo, 5 minute jog between

Average Pace: 7:23/mile overall; 6:34/mile for first tempo section; 6:40/mile for second tempo section

Average Heart Rate: 164 bpm overall; 176 bpm for first tempo section; 177 bpm for second tempo section

Notes: Well, I’m a little closer to finding my 7:10 per mile marathon tempo pace; a whole 8 seconds per mile closer, in fact. My new tempo motto: ‘Tis better to be too fast than too slow. Yes, you can quote me. Matt, I want to be at the top of your next blog post.

I enjoyed the warmer weather this morning. Granted, 41* is a far cry from the 80* high for today (God bless unseasonably warm weather). Granted, tomorrow morning I’ll be on the elliptical for the warmest morning of the week (how does that keep happening!?). However, I’m lucky. I know many people are suffering through cold weather right now. I feel for you, I just don’t want to be you. 🙂

I am also enjoying the ever-so-slowly increasing light in the mornings. The long road where I do my speedwork is highly elevated and gorgeous. On my right, I see the city lights and a pink horizon; on my left, a lake. This may be why I’ve managed to complete three whole weeks of speedwork. I do believe that’s my Post-College Speedwork-Adherence Personal Record.

What am I not enjoying? Being tired at work. But it’s worth it.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hahahaha matt will totally put you in as a quote!!!! i can’t wait to see it. and you can quote ME: consistency is the key to success. and i think your 3 week in a row speedwork (as well as your strength training and regular running) are great illustrators of this theory!!!!!!! 🙂 congrats!!!!!!

  2. so fast. it’s fun surprising yourself though 🙂 haven’t done that in awhile in terms of speed… maybe i’ll do a tempo run today!

  3. 80 degrees? so jealous…

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  4. I like the way you list your running stats. what is your max heart rate? or, what is the pct it hits when you are doing your 7:10s???

  5. dear jess,
    i am very jealous of your double digit temperatures.

    sincerely,
    christina

    😉

  6. I feel ya on the fact that tomorrow is supposed to be the warmest day of the week. And I’ll be stuck in the gym doing weights/cross-training. Boo.

  7. Kavin: Not sure. I’ll pay attention to that next time and let you know. You can determine your max HR with the 220-age formula, but I know that’s just an estimate.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

