Food for Fuel: Fish with Brussels and Wild Rice Salad

January 22, 2009 at 9:50 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood, Vegetable Side Dishes | 4 Comments

Last night I made a nice meal and used two new recipes, three if you count the fish “recipe” that I made up, but my fish entree was not as delicious as my sides.

Fish: I thawed two small orange roughy fillets and placed them in a baking dish with sliced mushrooms, a clove of garlic, and a quartered lemon. I added a little chopped sweet potato (leftover from making sweet potato fries) and doused everything in the dish with salt, pepper, parsley, and white wine.  I baked it at 350* for 11 minutes, but then had to take the sweet potatoes out and microwave them until they softened a little more.

dinner_01-21-09

Wild Rice and Barley Salad: I’ve been holding onto this recipe from Cooking Light for awhile now and finally got around to trying it. I already had cooked wheatberries in the fridge, so I used those instead of the pearl barley. I also used pine nuts instead of almonds and had to use dried basil instead of fresh. I didn’t have any chicken broth, but cooking the rice in water works fine as well. I really liked this recipe, which is good because I made half of it so I could eat the leftovers for lunch today.

dinner2_01-21-09

Golden-Crusted Brussels Sprouts: Another Heidi Swanson recipe, intriguing because she says it’s her favorite Brussels recipe, and also because I’m excited about the inclusion of cheese. It may also be my new favorite Brussels recipe, and I used sub-par cheese (a 2% milk, bagged Italian blend). I also used frozen Brussels.  Still good, and maybe even the highlight of dinner. Amazing what a good dousing of olive oil can do for a vegetable.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 14 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Brussels sprouts
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Lemons
  • Raisins
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Garbanzo beans
  • Olive oil
  • Brown rice
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
  • Parsley
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. my sprouts never turn out brown like that 😦

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  2. I know I’m a little behind here, but whoa! 31 + 10 pushups on the ball. You’re not going to reveal the new haircut?

    I’m going to try that Brussels sprouts recipe– I don’t know why I never thought of putting cheese on Brussels sprouts…

  3. i totally agree, veggies are one of my favorite things as long as they are prepared well!! olive oil, seasoning,…mmmm. and i loooove brussel sprouts, haven’t ever made them with cheese tho! you are a big cheese fan, huh!! 🙂

  4. ooh, i’ve been meaning to try that recipe. and now i have bag of brussels sprouts in my fridge…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

