Food for Fuel: My Big Fat Greek Project, Part III

December 8, 2008 at 1:40 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Poultry, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Vegetable Side Dishes | 8 Comments

Update: This week’s Blogger Secret Ingredient contest is being hosted by Sweet and Natural, who chose peppermint as the ingredient. I used peppermint in both the dolmas and the Greek Yogurt Dressing/tzatziki, so I’m submitting these recipes. I also discovered that peppermint is on the World’s Healthiest Foods list, so I added it at the bottom of my post.

Apparently grape leaves last forever in a jar, because it’s been two months since I last made dolmas. I really have no other use for grape leaves, so I decided to make dolmas again last night in another Big Fat Greek Project, Part I being the other dolma project, and Part II being here.

My primary reason for making dolmas, however, was not to get the grape leaves out of my fridge, but to have an excuse to make this hummus recipe that I grabbed from MizFit’s blog. And yes, hummus is great on pita bread, but delicious to spread on dolmas as well.

The hummus was easy to whip up in my mini food processor during the dolma’s lengthy simmering time (for info on making the dolmas, see link in first paragraph of this post). Verdict? This hummus is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly and it is perfectly spiced. A good thing, too, because I shelled out the money for tahini so now I have to make hummus all the time. Not. Cheap.

dinner_12-07-08

I just enjoyed more of it for lunch. So yummy.

I also made a Big Fat Greek Salad with the following:

  • Mixed greens
  • Baby spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Green bell pepper
  • Kalamata olives
  • Feta

Which I covered in my homemade Greek yogurt dressing:

  • 1/2 cup fat-free plain yogurt
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 tsp. dried dill
  • 2 tsp. chopped fresh mint
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper

I topped the salad with a grilled chicken breast, which I just grilled plain on my George Foreman, since it was about to be covered in yogurt dressing anyway.

dinner2_12-07-08

You can see some of my dolmas on the back of the plate. I think they turned out even better than last time and I am crediting Uncle Ben’s Instant Brown Rice.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 18 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Garlic
  • Olives
  • Onions
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Lemon
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Garbanzo beans (hummus)
  • Chicken
  • Brown rice
  • Black pepper
  • Cayenne pepper (hummus)
  • Cumin (hummus)
  • Dill
  • Peppermint

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well since your parents live in DE may I suggest you take your dad’s advice and come to Europe and then you could come visit Praha and we could hang out and go running in the cold. No, but really, that’s really cool they live close by! Where are they in Germany?

  2. haha i knew you used a georgre foreman cause the chickens all colorless like when I use mine. still tastes good though!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  3. you really have been busy in the kitchen 🙂 glad you liked the pumpkin butter! hummus is so easy sometimes I forget 🙂 and so many variations!!

  4. I loooove my foreman (and thanks for the linklove :))

  5. Oh yum – I was thinking of making a greek tzatziki sauce for the BSI too! Oh well, I’ll at least have to copy your recipe because everything looks insanely good.

  6. Hi! Thanks for the BSI entry!

  7. […] it…quite a bit. I was excited when I saw it because it contains tahini, which I bought for hummus and now I have a big jar and need to put it to […]

  8. […] Jessica @ See Jess Run – Dolmas; Greek Yogurt Dressing/Tzatziki […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.