Day Off?

July 14, 2008 at 7:54 pm | Posted in Strength Training | 15 Comments

I mentioned yesterday that Mondays are usually my off day.

But haha, tricked you!

By “off day,” I meant for my legs–no running, biking, etc. because my leg muscles need time to heal.

Now, I’m one of those rare addicts creatures who enjoys exercising every day, preferably first thing in the morning. Like, before it’s even light. It sets the tone for the day and makes me feel accomplished before I even sit down to my cereal.

However, I really don’t enjoy strength training very much–I just do it anyway because I know how effective it can be even with a relatively short time commitment. So, I do it twice a week and get excellent results. One of the two workouts is pretty short and I pick one afternoon after work to do it. Just one afternoon.

I do the other strength workout on the morning of my off day. It’s a longer workout, and if I end up skipping the other one, I know that I at least accomplished one good weight session that week. This workout consists of upper body weights and core strengthening.

I do three sets of 15 reps for each of these upper body exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips or extensions

I also do two sets of inclined situps with a medicine ball, trying to get as close to 30 reps as I can. I do one set of 25 reps of the back extension. I don’t rest, but alternate exercises so that I can move through the workout as quickly and efficiently as possible.

I am also following The Ultimate Ab Workout for Runners, which is an excellent core routine. The writer suggests doing it three times a week, but I’ve just been doing it twice and it’s still working well. I do this workout after my weights or mixed in between sets to rest my arms. I do ab exercises daily before I run, but this takes it up a notch and keeps things interesting. If you do only one exercise from this routine, do the Turkish Get-up on the last page. It’ll rock your world.

My “off day” workout does take up quite a bit of time, but it’s my only long strength session of the week. It tends to leave me pretty sore, and today at work I sat at my desk getting progressively stiffer and achier. However, I can mow my own lawn, open jars for people, and yesterday I even carried in all my groceries in a single trip. I dropped my keys in the grass on the way to the door, but last time I checked, no one ever claimed that strength training cures clumsiness.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] and I guess if Ed Eyestone took one day off a week, I probably should too. I did the same strength workout that I did last Monday. I am now on Dynamic Phase, Week 3 of my core […]

  2. […] today, but I made good time home from Houston and needed to drive right by the gym anyway. I did my usual strength workout but I am now in the Base Building Phase 2 of my core workout (linked in sidebar). The weights are […]

  3. […] get there early. My gym doesn’t open until 6, so I considered waiting until after work to do my usual strength training workout. But, remembering that Sarah is so much busier than I am, guilt set in. I decided that I could do […]

  4. […] Before work today, I drove to the gym and did my usual long strength workout. I’m feeling a little sore as I sit here writing about it. My quadriceps are screaming, but […]

  5. […] If I must workout indoors, I’m glad that it happened on such a humid, nasty morning. I did my “off day” strength session before work and then spent the rest of the day with my shoulders and back getting progressively […]

  6. […] This morning I did my usual long upper body and core workout that I do on my “off days.” I’m on the Base […]

  7. […] wearing a cross-country championship shirt from 2003 instead of a giant red letter A, I completed an awesome workout (I’m in week 3 of the Dynamic phase of that core […]

  8. […] morning, I went to my gym and did this workout. This is the Base week of my Ultimate Abs workout (I’m in Phase 2). I highly recommend the […]

  9. […] Jess’ muscles must become nice and sore for desk sitting, so off to the gym. I did my usual long strength training session. I’m in week 1 of the dynamic phase of my core workout (Ultimate Abs, linked in […]

  10. […] least I had a good strength training session. I did the same long workout that I did on Monday, plus some extra ab work. I didn’t do the jumping part of the Ultimate […]

  11. […] did my usual long Monday workout, but I think I’m going to be more sore than usual tomorrow! Even though I did most of the […]

  12. […] I decided to do my long strength training session on Sunday this week so that I can get back to running tomorrow morning. I was a little depressed […]

  13. […] I’m fighting a cold. I think the combination of the two made me a little weaker today. I did the same exercises as usual, but they felt harder. I could barely finish my inclined sit-ups. Last week my strength workout […]

  14. […] did my awesome weights and core routine that thoroughly kicks my butt. I’m in the base week, phase 2 of the core workout, which means […]

  15. […] My poor legs are in desperate need of a day off, so I drove to the gym this morning to do my long strength training workout (Week 1 of Dynamic phase for Ultimate Abs, fyi). The weather for this indoor exercise day? A balmy […]


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.